Tags

A conversation at work led to me looking at Nicholson workbenches, which eventually led to this work table. Not a workbench, mind. I have one. This is for other tasks and lighter work.

Especially, I found the way Richard Maguire seated the legs of his bench into grooves in the apron interesting.
https://www.theenglishwoodworker.com/the-english-tradition/
https://www.theenglishwoodworker.com/timber-movement-workbench-design/

So this work table may well be an example of an engineer being too clever for his own good. Too clever by half, or perhaps three quarters. I don’t think I’ve seen precisely this sort of joinery elsewhere, but decided it was worth a try.

The top is a 1 1/2 inch thick birch countertop from the big box store, the frame and legs cheap 1×8 and 2×8 for from the lumberyard. The top is mounted using bed bolts, counterbored into the surface, and the legs are sliding dovetailed to the aprons. The legs are glued L shapes, tapered and splayed, and the stretchers pull the legs into the top (hence the small gap – if things move in time, the bolts can be tightened).

It’s quite sturdy and stable so far. Hopefully it will remain so. I have not yet added any dog holes or other additions, but may in time. My watchmakers lathe needed a home, this provides one, and space for other work.

A few photos.